

NBA COMMUNICATIONS GROUP

BRIAN McINTYRE SVP, Basketball Communications | MIKE BASS SVP, Marketing Communications

SUNS' GRANT HILL WINS 2007-08 NBA SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD Hill is award's first two-time winner, first in Phoenix franchise history

NEW YORK, April 24, 2008 – **Grant Hill** of the Phoenix Suns is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2007-08 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

Hill, a 12-year veteran and the recipient of the 2004-05 Sportsmanship Award, was one of six divisional winners which included Detroit's Antonio McDyess, Houston's Shane Battier, Portland's Brandon Roy, Toronto's Chris Bosh and Washington's Antawn Jamison. This marks the first time that a player has received the award more than once.

The NBA will donate \$25,000 on behalf of Grant Hill to HopeKids, a non-profit organization based out of Phoenix which provides ongoing events and activities along with a support community for children with cancer and other life-threatening medical conditions to send the message that hope can be a powerful medicine.

The NBA will donate \$10,000 each to the divisional winners' charities of choice: America Red Cross for Hurricane Katrina relief efforts on behalf of McDyess; The Giving Fund on behalf of Battier; the Lenny Wilkens Foundation, which believes that every child deserves access to quality healthcare and the opportunity to receive a competitive education, on Roy's behalf; The Toronto Raptors Foundation on behalf of Bosh; and Washington Sports and Entertainment Charities, Inc. to benefit local initiatives in the Washington, D.C. area on Jamison's behalf.

For the fourth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth place vote received. Each team nominated one of its own players for this award, then former NBA players Mike Bantom, Eddie Johnson, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Steve Smith, the 2000-2001 Sportsmanship Award recipient, selected the six divisional winners.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship – ethical behavior, fair play and integrity – in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the leagues Jr. NBA and Jr. WNBA grassroots youth basketball program. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Following is a list of this year's voting totals and all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship Award:

2007-08 NBA SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD VOTING TOTALS

Player, Team	<u>1st</u>	2^{nd}	3 rd	4 th	<u>5th</u>	6 th	Points
Grant Hill	90	100	60	39	34	21	2628
Shane Battier	78	80	59	29	42	56	2318
Brandon Roy	59	51	60	67	47	60	2064
Antonio McDyess	44	47	55	65	69	64	1888
Antawn Jamison	37	34	59	87	66	61	1820
Chris Bosh	36	32	51	57	86	82	1666

ALL-TIME NBA SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD WINNERS

Inaugural:	Joe Dumars (1996)	2001-02:	Steve Smith, San Antonio
1996-97:	Terrell Brandon, Cleveland	2002-03:	Ray Allen, Seattle
1997-98:	Avery Johnson, San Antonio	2003-04:	P.J. Brown, New Orleans
1998-99:	Hersey Hawkins, Seattle	2004-05:	Grant Hill, Orlando
1999-2000:	Eric Snow, Philadelphia	2005-06:	Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2000-2001:	David Robinson, San Antonio	2006-07:	Luol Deng, Chicago
		2007-08:	Grant Hill, Phoenix

###